ORDINANCE NO. 1789

AN ORDINANCE TO ESTABLISH POLLING PLACES FOR FIVE VOTING WARDS FOR THE PURPOSE OF MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS FOR MAYOR, CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS AND CITY SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS IN THE CITY OF TALLADEGA, ALABAMA.

WHEREAS, the City of Talladega, Alabama shall hold municipal elections for Mayor, City Council Members and City School Board Members;

SECTION 1. The Mayor shall be elected by a majority vote of the City voters.

SECTION 2. The five (5) City Council Members and the five (5) City School Board Members shall be elected from five (5) Voting Wards with one Council Member and one School Board Member being elected from each Ward.

SECTION 3. Each Council Member and each School Board Member must be a resident of the Ward from which he/she is elected and must be a resident of said Ward at the time of their qualifying and remain a resident of said Ward throughout their term of office.

SECTION 4. The Polling Site for Ward 1 shall be at B.N. Mabra Recreation Center, Ward 2 shall be at Brecon Recreation Center, Ward 3 and Ward 4 shall be at Spring Street Recreation Center and Ward 5 shall be at Bemiston Recreation Center.

SECTION 5. Each registered voter shall be permitted to vote for one Council Member and one School Board Member in the Ward that they are a resident.

SECTION 6. All sections of this ordinance are hereby declared to be severable; and if any word, phrase, clause, sentence, paragraph or section of this ordinance shall be declared unconstitutional or invalid by the judgment or decree of any court of competent jurisdiction, such unconstitutionality shall not affect any of the remaining words, phrases, clauses, sentences, paragraphs and sections of this ordinance.

This Ordinance shall supercede and replace any ordinance previously adopted and in conflict with the provisions and interest of this Ordinance. This Ordinance specifically repeals Ordinance No. 1203 dated February 16, 1987.

SECTION 7. This ordinance shall take effect immediately upon its passage and publication, as provided by law.

ADOPTED and APPROVED this the 15th day of December, 2014.

Council President Ricky Simpson Councilman Horace Patterson Councilman Joe Ballow Councilman Donnie Miller City Manager Brian Muenger

Attested to: Elizabeth Cheeks, City Clerk